Ricotta mushroom frittata with roast potatoes

This dinner was inspired by ingredients in my fridge.  I wanted to make a delicious homemade meal but didn’t have much in the way of meat for protein.  I decided to make a frittata because I had more than enough eggs as well as delicious potatoes to roast.  A frittata is essentially an Italian dish similar to a crustless quiche.  My mother used to use salami and potatoes in her frittata, they were delicious but I thought I’d try something different.  I left the potatoes separate and instead made a rich vegetarian version with some beautiful ricotta I had in the fridge along with some fresh cilantro.  You could try substituting different cheeses or vegetables, the options are endless, but I hope you enjoy this version.

Bag of fingerling potatoes
Sea salt, to taste
Pepper, to taste
Chilli powder, to taste
Garlic powder, to taste
Olive oil
Baking tray

The reason I didn’t include any measurements with my potatoes is I season by sight.  I tend to use a lot of seasoning with potatoes and simply shake it on until it looks sufficient.  Potatoes absorb seasoning and always seem to need more so it’s hard to over do it.  In fact, after tasting my finished potatoes I added a bit more salt.

IMG_7414

Bake for 30-45 min at 375 F until beautiful and golden brown.

IMG_7421

6 Crimini mushrooms, sliced
4 garlic cloves, sliced
1/3 white onion, diced
6 eggs
1 cup milk
1 cup ricotta
1/4 cup cilantro, minced
Salt and pepper, to taste
Olive oil
Whisk
Stainless steel frying pan (this is a must have!  Otherwise, you will need to transfer your frittata to another dish before baking)

While your potatoes are in the oven you can work on your frittata.  Heat a stainless steel pan with olive oil over medium heat.  Add your onions and let them sweat a bit.

IMG_7415

Next, add your garlic and mushrooms.  Allow them to cook down and brown before adding your egg.

IMG_7416

Whisk your eggs and milk with salt and pepper.  Finally add your egg and ricotta to your pan.  Sprinkle with cilantro and place your frittata in the oven on the bottom rack.

IMG_7420

Cook for 30 minutes until cooked through and slightly golden.  The parts where the ricotta is will look less cooked, if you are unsure simply test with a toothpick.

IMG_7426

Serve immediately and enjoy!

IMG_7429

Leave a Reply

