Turkey lasagna with homemade pasta and ricotta

Anyone who knows me well will tell you that if I can make something from scratch, I refuse on principle to purchase it from the grocery store.  This comes from wanting to know all the ingredients in my food and also an increasing desire to improve myself as a home cook.  Several years ago, my husband bought me a pasta maker attachment for my favourite kitchen appliance: my KitchenAid Mixer.  I was incredibly excited but also very nervous because making homemade pasta sounded so complicated to me.  I have by no means perfected my pasta making method, but this recipe is quite tasty.  If you want a dough that is easier to handle, albeit possibly less authentic, you can use straight AP flour.  You could, of course, fore go making your own pasta entirely and use store bought noodles.  If you decided to do this I suggest buying fresh noodles, not dried.  Despite this being a healthier version of a traditional lasagna, with these flavours you won’t miss the beef or bechamel sauce.

2 cups AP flour
2 cups durham wheat semolina flour
Pinch of salt
6 eggs
2-3 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil
Pasta maker

Thoroughly sift together your flour, semolina flour, and pinch of salt.  In mixing bowl, make a mountain out of flour your mixture in then make a deep well in the center.  Break the eggs into the well and add your olive oil and seasoning.

IMG_7378

Whisk the eggs very gently with a fork, gradually incorporating flour from the sides of the before mixing with your stand mixer. Knead your dough with the mixer for 8 to 12 minutes, until it is smooth and supple.  Wrap dough tightly in plastic and allow it to rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.

IMG_7380

Finally, roll out your dough and run it through your pasta maker to make thin, almost translucent, sheets of pasta (start at the largest setting and feed it through 3-4 times on consecutively smaller settings).

1 lb ground turkey
2 tsp olive oil
4 garlic cloves, sliced
2 cups marinara sauce (I used my homemade marinara from my earlier post Ricotta Gnocchi and Marinara Sauce)
Tsp chilli flakes
Salt to taste

Heat some olive oil on medium-high and sautee your garlic slices.  Next, add your turkey and mix with some salt and chilli flakes.  Cook until browned then add your marinara and simmer while you prepare your pan and ricotta.

IMG_7385

Container of ricotta (I like Tre Stella low fat)
Egg
Tsp basil, dried
Pinch of pepper
Pinch of salt
Bowl

Mix your ricotta ingredients until combined and set aside.

2 cups marinara
1/2 ball mozzarella, grated
Parmesan, to taste
Chilli flakes, to taste
Basil, to taste
Zucchini, sliced thin
Large glass baking dish (I prefer to use this instead of an opaque dish because it enables you to see how well your lasagna is cooking from all angles)

Spread one cup of marinara on the bottom of your pan and place a layer of noodles down.

IMG_7383

Layer your meat sauce, zuchinni slices and ricotta then place another layer of pasta.

IMG_7386

Repeat and place your last layer of pasta.  Spread your final cup of marinara over your lasagna and spread the mozzarella.  Season as desired with Parmesan, chilli flakes and dried basil.

Bake uncovered for 45 minutes at 375 F until golden and bubbling.

IMG_7389

Let cool and enjoy with a large side salad 🙂

IMG_7391

Leave a Reply

