Maple pecan chocolate pie

One of my husband’s friends hosts an annual Christmas dinner and, for as long as I’ve been attending, I’ve brought a dessert (predictable, I know).  This year I decided to bring a pecan pie because I’ve developed an obsession with these delicious nuts.  I’m not sure when or how it happened but I just want to add them to absolutely everything from mains to salads to desserts.  Pecan pie recipes are everywhere: it’s a classic Southern U.S. dessert with universal appeal.  As usual, I found a few recipes that sounded pretty good and put my own spin on them.  This recipe uses my standard pie crust, but you could always change it up with a shortbread crust instead.  I felt that the filling was so rich that a simple crust would compliment it best.  Instead of using a typical filling, I chose to use maple syrup: both to add a little Canadiana, and also because I dislike high fructose corn syrup.  The final touch to this pie is chunks of semisweet chocolate; this is not necessary, and could be substituted with more pecans if you wanted a less amazing, boring pie.

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tbsp white sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup frozen butter
6 tbsp ice water
Rolling pin
Pastry/cutting board
Bowl
Box or potato grater

Sift your flour, sugar and salt together in a large bowl.  Then grate the frozen butter into the flour mixture and toss lightly with your fingers until thoroughly combined.

IMG_5656

Sprinkle in the ice water and stir with your fingers, mixing and firmly kneading until the dough comes together into a ball.  Next, flatten your dough into a disk, wrap in cellophane and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

3 tbsp butter, melted
3 eggs, beaten
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp flour
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup maple syrup
2 cups pecan halves
1 cup semi sweet chocolate chunks (I used PC brand)
Pie plate
Baking pan
Preheat your oven to 350 F and toast your pecans for 8 minutes then set aside.
IMG_5886
Melt your butter.  Mix your beaten eggs, flour, vanilla and maple syrup until combined then add your butter.
IMG_5888
Next, mix in your chocolate chunks and roasted pecans.
IMG_5894
Roll out your pie dough and place in a baking plate then pour your filling in.  Place your pie plate on a baking sheet to prevent dripping and bake for 50-60 minutes.
IMG_5896
If you find your crust is baking too fast, cover the edges with foil to prevent burning while the filling sets.
IMG_5897
Allow your pie to cool fully on a baking sheet before serving.
IMG_5901
I think it was a hit!
IMG_5967

Leave a Reply

