Spaghetti with Parmesan meatballs and marinara

As I’ve mentioned again and again, I love Italian food.  Nothing can beat a bowl of pasta with a delicious sauce and some freshly grated Parmesan Reggiano.  Surprisingly I didn’t eat any meatballs on our honeymoon in Italy.  I attribute this glaring omission to a subconscious knowledge that any meatball in Italy would likely be made with veal.  You may notice from my recipes (I also refer to my inevitable future post about bolognese sauce) that although I adore Italian food, I never cook with veal.  I have moral issues with the way the animals are raised, and while I am very unlikely to ever become vegetarian (in part because it would break my husband’s heart), I do try and purchase organic ethically raised meat wherever possible.  As a result of this, and other ingredients, this recipe may seem somewhat unconventional but I promise the results are a delicious, moist meatball with the added ‘something’ of grated Parmesan inside.

1 lb ground beef
1 egg
1 cup breadcrumbs
1/2 cup grated Parmesan Regianno
Tsp chili flakes
Tsp salt
Tsp pepper
2 cloves minced garlic
Tsp onion powder
3/4 cup lukewarm water
Homemade marinara (see my earlier posts)
¼ cup minced Vidallia Onion
2 zucchini
Handful of spaghetti (I like Barilla)
Olive oil
Baking sheet
Saute pan

Combine your beef, garlic, egg, cheese, chili flakes, onion powder, salt and pepper.   Once thoroughly blended, add your bread crumbs into the meat mixture.  Slowly add the warm water 1/2 cup at a time.  Your mixture will be very moist but should still hold it’s shape if rolled into meatballs.

IMG_5764

Shape into meatballs (I like making larger, fist sized meatballs) and drizzle with olive oil.  Bake the meatballs at 375 for 10-15 minutes until cooked then brown at 425 for 10 min, turning once.

IMG_5766

Slice your onion and zuchinni and roast them in the oven for 5-10 min with your meatballs.

IMG_5767

Your finished meatballs should be brown with a nice crust.

IMG_5768

Place the cooked meatballs and veggies into your Marinara Sauce and cook for 15 more minutes while you boil your pasta.

IMG_5773

Serve with grated Parmesan, enjoy!

IMG_5779

Leave a Reply

