Chewy oatmeal cookies with candied pecans and chocolate

I recently decided to try and make one of my favourite kind of cookies: oatmeal chocolate chip.  The weather has been getting colder and we recently had our first real snowfall of the season.  Something about an oatmeal cookie is so satisfying and hearty and feels less indulgent than a regular chocolate chip cookie (if you ignore the calories).  I scoured cookbooks and the internet for recipes but didn’t find anything that sounded tasty so I made up my own!  I have a recent obsession with pecans and desire to put them in absolutely everything, so I candied them (like in my earlier biscotti post) and added them to the cookies.  If you don’t share my nut obsession, simply omit them and double the number of chocolate chips in the recipe.  I brought these to a recent games night with friends and they were a definite hit.  Simple to make and delicious, what more could you ask for in a cookie?

1 cup softened butter (unless specified, I always mean unsalted)
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 rounded cups of rolled oats
1/2 cup of chocolate chips
3/4 tsp maple syrup
3/4 tsp oil
1/2 cup of pecans, candied with maple syrup and chopped

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  Roast your pecans for 6-8 minutes, make sure not to let them burn.  After your pecans are toasted, roughly chop them and set aside.  Heat your oil and maple syrup at medium low heat in a small pot then add the pecan chunks.  Mix until the pecans have absorbed the liquid then turn off the heat and set aside.

IMG_5627

In a large bowl, mix the softened butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until creamy.  Next, add your eggs and vanilla and mix thoroughly.

IMG_5636

Sift your flour, baking soda and salt then add it to your liquids.  Next, slowly add the rolled oats, candied pecans and chocolate chips and stir until well blended.  The mixture will be very thick so be careful not to overwork your Kitchenaid!

IMG_5643

Drop by the tablespoon onto a lined cookie sheet.  These cookies don’t spread too much so a few inches in between each should be sufficient.

IMG_5644

Bake for 12-14 minutes until the edges are slightly browned but the center is still light, this will ensure a chewy cookie.  After the cookies are firm enough, transfer them to a wire rack to cool.  Place them in a airtight container as soon as they reach room temperature.

Yum!

IMG_5653

One thought on “Chewy oatmeal cookies with candied pecans and chocolate

  1. I was fortunate to be the recipient of one of Anneke’s Chewy Oatmeal Cookies. I thought it was delicious even though I am not an oatmeal cookie fan (but I do love pecans, especially candied ones). The cookie had a pleasing texture and was not too sweet. Although I rarely bake, I am tempted to make them this weekend for my company.

Leave a Reply

